Blog Experience

Social Media

Social Media

Throughout the course of the semester, I was required to blog twice a week; once about the theme of my blog, i.e. fashion, and once about a topic my professor, Dr. Magolis, gave the class. I am not new to blogging… I’ve had to blog every semester since I got in the Mass Communications major. I’ve used blogging tools such as Blogger, Tumblr, BOLT, and WordPress. WordPress has definitely been my favorite blogging site to use, however. There are so many neat features to use on WordPress so a blog can never be boring! I also have noticed that my blog has received a good amount of attention. WordPress uses tags in such an affective way that blogs are easy to find and read.

The main reason I applied to the Mass Communications major at Bloomsburg University is because I am fascinated with how social media is now used not only for personal use, but for business use. Yes, social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram are used to share information about an individual; however, these sites are becoming more and more business oriented. Every single one of my friends has an account on all of the sites I just mentioned. I think most people around the world can say the same thing. It only makes sense that businesses and companies are now turning towards social media and the internet to promote whatever it is they’re selling. In today’s day and age, I will never understand why an organization doesn’t utilize social media. It’s only going to grow! Plus, it’s free!

I use social media every day of my life. As soon as I wake up, I get on my phone and check what I’ve missed in the past 8 hours while I was sleeping. I refresh Twitter and Instagram probably over 100 times a day; I guess you can say I have a bad case of FOMO– Fear Of Missing Out. I like to know what’s going on in the world around me at all times! Since I will be graduating within the next year, I took the necessary precautions in regards to keeping my social media accounts protected and safe. I have a professional Twitter account along with a personal one. The same goes for Facebook. Even though I don’t post inappropriate pictures or anything like that on my personal Facebook or Twitter, it is better to be safe than sorry.

Overall, I have enjoyed this blogging experience. There have been times when I found it slightly difficult to find topics to blog about, but I will definitely continue blogging after the semester is over! I have obtained an internship this summer, and I would like to blog for that company since they do not yet have a blog. Social media is growing, and there isn’t anything anyone can do about it! Accept it. Embrace it. Learn to love it.

For more information about me and some of the things I have done throughout my college career, check out my Weebly website, Ashley Wright!

Leave a Reply

